Counseling

The single best thing I have done for my health has been to go to counseling. I see my counselor once every two weeks, and a psychiatrist once a month, and in the short time between now and January it has helped so much.
The only thing that has come close improving my quality of life as much as counseling has was my surgery and the acupuncture that switched my migraines from constant incredible pain to just auras.

That’s not to say its been easy, or counseling has been an immediate fix. It takes hard work and time.

But without counseling I wouldn’t be where I am today. I wouldn’t be feeling optimistic and engaged on a level that I haven’t been in years. Even through the struggles and challenges, counseling is helping me find the tools, resources, and support I need to get through them — and get through them positively.

I am thankful every day for my ability to see my counselor (shout-out J, you’re the best!) and to be able to do so through my university.

Let me know what you are thinking.

