My crochet friend

I made myself a little armadillo yesterday. He fits in the palm of my hand, and can roll up into his shell. My husband suggested I keep him in my purse for anytime I start feeling down or unhappy. Then I can take him out to cheer me up, or distract me. I love the idea. I need to make a little “home” for him with some scrap fabric, so my keys don’t catch on the yarn and mess him up.

Crochet armadillo

Crochet armadillo

Crochet armadillo

Crochet armadillo

Crochet armadillo standing on a cow butter platter

Crochet armadillo standing on the cow butter platter my momma brought me to decorate my kitchen. My naughty kitten got in my plant in the windowsill and knocked some of the dirt onto the platter.

Crochet armadillo

Crochet armadillo. His face isn’t the prettiest thing. The pattern was worked in half double crochets (US terms) which left some gaps on his head where you could see the stuffing. I used a long tail of yarn to ‘sew’ over these spots and hide the stuffing. He isn’t perfect, but I think that’s part of his charm.

Crochet armadillo

Crochet armadillo

Crochet armadillo rolled up in his shell.

Crochet armadillo rolled up in his shell.

One thought on “My crochet friend

Let me know what you are thinking.

