Hello Uterus. (And low FODMAP Day 8: Chicken with Green Chili Currry and Roasted Veggies)

I missed my low FODMAP entry yesterday because I felt awful. I’ll give you a warning here, if you’re just here for the low FODMAP recipes, and are uncomfortable with menstrual related talk,  then you’re going to want to skip to the bottom of this post.

It all started Monday evening. I was going to the bathroom and strained a bit (as I said, that oral contrast and I did not get along). I felt a pop, and all of a sudden was having bright red vaginal bleeding and passing blood clots. Now, remember, I am on an aromatase inhibitor and have been for almost a year now. I’m chemical in menopause. Even so, I usually spot every day. Old brown blood, and maybe on the rare occasion a very light amount of the bright red stuff. But this was different; it was far more reminiscent of one of my old “normal” periods.
This bleeding continued on through Tuesday morning and afternoon. It was accompanied by uterine cramps, rectal pain, vaginal pain, lower back pain, and pain in my right hip. All mild, compared to what I used to experience on a “normal” period, but since I hadn’t had that in almost a year it was still enough to make me feel like shit. Add to that the low FODMAP diet, which hasn’t helped me feel any better and means I constantly have to be eating to keep from feeling awful, a full day of work, and a three hour class, and it was a very long day.

(For the record, I had -in no particular order- zucchini and a very small portion of hummus; sweet potato tortilla chips; a peanut butter and jelly sandwich; a cantaloupe, honeydew, strawberry, and pineapple fruit cup; a Greek salad; a snack pack of olives; a peanut butter protein bar; and a Mediterranean-style stuffed pepper (which, I did not really like, so I won’t be sharing the recipe in-detail here), water, Lady Grey tea)
The bleeding started to taper off in the evening, so while I was concerned about it (you really shouldn’t be bleeding like that during menopause, even chemical menopause, right?) I figured it was a fluke thing. I was exhausted, mentally and physically, and just glad it was resolving.

Well. I was wrong.

By the time I got to work this morning, my uterus made sure I knew it wasn’t done. The pain increased. The cramping increased. The bleeding and clotting increased. The fatigue increased. To the point that I spent about an hour just sitting in a hot shower, and had to go back to using my Diva cup. (Which, overflowed within 2.5 hours.This is very reminiscent of my old periods).

This is clearly more concerning. I’ll have to either make a call to Dr. H- my usual GYN, or go up to the women’s clinic of the student health center tomorrow and get checked out.

Thankfully, I don’t have class on Wednesday. I did have a lot of work to get done, that I haven’t been able to get done, but at least its not getting done from my pillow fort and not from class.


As far as FODMAP goes (for all those of you who skipped to the end, it’s safe to read from here on out) today I didn’t eat much. I had some strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries for breakfast. Then roasted turkey breast, with squash and zucchini from the dining hall for lunch, and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich as an afternoon snack.

For dinner, I actually turned to an old favorite of my house hold, Mel’s Kitchen Cafe’s chicken with green chili curry and roasted veggies, just switching out my usual portion of couscous for brown rice and skipping the naan. I highly recommend this recipe, it’s easy, quick, and delicious.

Ingredients

  • Boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • Salt
  • Black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 (14 oz) can coconut milk
  • 1 (4 oz) can diced green chilies
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon garam masala (I use this recipe to make easy garam masala)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • Brown rice, cooked (or your favorite rice of choice)
  • Zucchini
  • Red pepper
  • Paprika
  • Garlic-infused olive oil

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 400 F
  • Slice zucchini into rounds, and red pepper into strips. Cover liberally with garlic-infused olive oil, and season with salt, pepper, and paprika. Spread out on a baking sheet, and place in preheated oven for about 20 minutes.
  • Slice chicken breast into bite size pieces and season with salt and black pepper.
  • Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat.
  • Add chicken and cook until golden brown all over.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together coconut milk, green chilies, curry powder, garam masala, and cumin.
  • Add mixture to chicken, and bring to a simmer. Simmer until chicken is cooked through, and the sauce reduces slightly, about 5 minutes. The sauce will be quite runny. To thicken it up a bit, mix cornstarch and cold water, and add it to the sauce. Let simmer for a few minutes to thicken.
  • Serve over brown rice.
Let me know what you are thinking.

