CT scan, and low FODMAP Day 6: Chicken Biryani

This morning I had my CT scan.

I had to be at the imaging center at 10:00 AM for the 11:00 AM scan, and couldn’t have anything by mouth for at least 2 hours before. So I woke up around 7:30 to take my morning pills, but was otherwise completely fasted. I arrived at the imaging center early, after dropping A off at work. Shortly after checking in, the technician came out with two cups full of the oral contrast, and a straw. I had twenty minutes to drink it all, and then an hour later I’d be ready for my scan.

Drinking it down was a bit of a challenge. It was thick, and had an odd taste I couldn’t place. It wasn’t nearly as bad as the magnesium citrate for bowel prep, but it was certainly a challenge getting to the bottom of each up. Another patient in the waiting room was also getting an abdominal CT, and had just finished drinking his dose when I got mine. We joked a bit about the taste.

Twenty minutes or so after finishing my two cups of contrast it hit me. The last time I had a CT, the oral contrast was different- it was clear, and mixed with saline and ice, and I didn’t find it bad at all; the stuff I had today was white and completely different, and apparently does not agree with me as well.

I made a couple of bathroom runs before the technician came and got me for the scan. Once in the CT room the technician had me lay on the machine, placed and IV in my right arm, and had me put my hands above my head. We did a set of scans, then the technician added the IV contrast. If you’ve never had IV contrast, it’s a weird sensation; you get a warm, burning feeling that starts at the top of your head and travels down your body. It also makes you feel like you’re going to pee. We did another set of scans with the IV contrast, then the technician came and took the IV out. I needed one more set of scans, 7 minutes later, so I just waited for a while on the machine. After the last set of scans, I was done. The technician made me a copy of the scans (at my request), and told me how to sign up for the patient portal. I finished up around 11:50 AM.

Since I knew I wouldn’t have eaten all morning, I brought one of the peanut butter protein bars to eat in the car.

I had to go refill my amitriptyline prescription, so I swung by Kroger. While I was there I also picked up some low FODMAP friendly jelly, for my PB&J sandwiches- blackberry, with no added high fructose corn syrup. My tummy still wasn’t feeling well, at all, so as soon as my ‘script was filled I picked up my husband from work and headed home.

When I got home I I had a small amount of left over Cottage Pie, hoping it would help me feel a bit better. Slowly as the afternoon wore on, my tummy settled down. Then it started to hit me that my blood sugar was getting low, since I really hadn’t had much all day- and lost a lot of what I may have had in trips to the bathroom. I decided to have a handful of blueberries, raspberries, and a bit of maple syrup as a pick me up.

A little later I made dinner- Chicken Biryani from The FOODMAP Foodie. This recipe was delicious. We’ll definitely make this again, maybe with some stewed tomatoes.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • boneless, skinless chicken tenderloins, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1/2 cup basmati rice
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 2 zucchini, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1, thumb sized piece of ginger, grated
  • olive oil

Instructions

  • Heat the oil in a medium sized Dutch oven,over medium heat.
  • Add the chicken, ginger, turmeric, and curry powder. Cook until the chicken is cooked through.
  • Pour in the rice, vegetables, and stock, and stir to mix.
  • Bring the pan to a simmer, then cover and cook for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

.I totally forgot to take an Instagram photo of this one, sorry guys! I was too hungry, and it was too good.

Let me know what you are thinking.