low FODMAP Day 5: Peanut Butter Protein Bars & Cottage Pie

I went to bed last night feeling pretty bad- abdominal cramps, some nausea, and all over feeling unwell. I don’t know what caused it, maybe the liquid smoke?

I woke up feeling a little better, but not in a great mood. I had to run to the grocery store to pick up some tamari, and had a bit of a break down in the car on the way home. I just wanted a comfort food snack, and couldn’t have any of my usual choices. The toughness of this diet hit me again really hard.

When I got home I made myself a bowl of oatmeal, with berries, maple syrup, and chia seeds. Besides half of the oatmeal spilling in the microwave, it made me feel a bit better.

Around noon I decide to have some lunch. I had picked up some snack packs of Kalamata olives when I was at the grocery store, so had a pack of olives with some feta cheese, some sweet potato tortilla chips, and an all natural peanut butter and preserves sandwich on Udi. The preserves probably weren’t the best option for low FODMAP, it was fig, but all the other options we had in the fridge had high fructose corn syrup as an ingredient. I figured a small amount of fig preserves would be safer than added high fructose corn syrup.

I started to feel better through out the afternoon, and late in the afternoon decided to have a peanut butter protein bar. I made these bars yesterday, so I would have something to get me through the days at school next week. I slightly modified the recipe from Kate Scarlatta.

Peanut Butter Protein Bar

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup all natural peanut butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup quinoa flour
  • 1/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • dark chocolate chips

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350 F.
  • Line the bottom of an 8 inch square pan with parchment paper.
  • Beat together the butter and peanut butter until creamy.
  • Add in the eggs, brown sugar, and vanilla. Beat together.
  • Blend in the quinoa flour, brown rice flour, and baking powder.
  • Fold in the chocolate chips.
  • Spread batter into the prepared pan.
  • Bake for 25 minutes.Let cool for 1/2 hour, and then cut into squares.

The protein bars are pretty tasty.

As the afternoon wore on I started feeling pretty bad again. No stomach cramps, but a bit nauseous, dizzy, and flushed. Just all over not well.

For dinner I made Cottage Pie, using The FODMAP Foodie’s recipe as a base.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 2 large carrots, shredded
  • 1 parsnip, shredded
  • 1 tablespoon garlic-infused olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon tamari
  • glass of red wine
  • salt, to taste
  • pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/8 teaspoon celery seed
  • 1 lb golden delicious potatoes
  • butter

Instructions

  • Wash the potatoes and add to a pot of salted water. Place over medium-high heat and bring to boil. Cook until fork tender, at least 45 minutes.
  •  While potatoes are cooking, heat garlic-infused olive oil in a stock pot or large frying pan over medium-high heat.
  • Add the ground beef to the stock pot, and brown.
  • Add the carrots, parsnip, wine, tamari, rosemary, paprika, oregano, celery seed, salt, and pepper. Simmer for ~15 minutes, until well cooked.
  • Drain the potatoes, then return the potatoes back to their pot- removed from heat. Add butter (I used 3 tablespoons, you should use an amount you’re comfortable with), salt, pepper, and paprika to taste. Mash until smooth.
  • Pour meat mixture into a 9in round oven-proof dish.
  • Top with mashed potatoes, spreading them evenly over the meat.
  • Add some slices of butter over the potatoes, then place in the oven. Cook for 20 minutes, until the top is golden brown.

This is a delicious Cottage Pie recipe. It doesn’t quite have the richness of a Cottage Pie cooked with tomato paste, but does a pretty great job on flavors otherwise. We’ll certainly be having it again in the future.

2 thoughts on “low FODMAP Day 5: Peanut Butter Protein Bars & Cottage Pie

  1. Finally someone who wants more flavor with their foods. Thank you for the recipe. Is fun to do as single servings in muffin cups also. I didn’t bother with browning, Mixed up like a meatloaf. Baked for 30 minutes, topped with the potatoes, put back in for 10 min to brown a bit.

Let me know what you are thinking.

