Low FODMAP – Day 3: Spam & Quinoa Fried Rice

Day 3! Today went better than yesterday, but I still hit some grumpy sugar lows. I did plan a more extensive menu for the next four days, and spent a lot of money at the grocery store. It is crazy how expensive it is. I needed quinoa flour for a recipe I will be sharing with you in the near future- it was $10.00 for a small bag!

I still haven’t noticed any change in my level of bloating.

Onto today’s food:

Morning: cheddar cheese stick and black tea

Snacks: 2 of cocoa lemon energy balls, a few hours apart; I enjoyed them more today than I did yesterday. And a water bottle.

Lunch: NY strip steak, broiled Italian tomato, and green beans from the dining hall. I’m not positive that everything was cooked without garlic or onions, but I picked the best I could. A had a lot of work to do this afternoon, so we didn’t get lunch until nearly 3:00pm. By that point I was cranky and a bit weak, I needed the extra calories from the steak, tomato, and green beans, over a salad. I had some more water with lunch.

Snack: A few Food Should Taste Good Sweet Potato Tortilla Chips. Guys, these are SO good. The bag was on sale for $2.50, and I’m so glad I picked them up. I’m very glad I can have a few of these throughout the day.

Dinner: A 1/2 cup of  V8 Pomegranate Blueberry juice, a water bottle, and spam & quinoa fried rice. Spam & quinoa fried rice is actually a dinner we have often, although we did have to modify it to be lowFODMAP. It’s a recipe A and I wing every time we make it, but I’ll give you a general idea of what we do:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Quinoa
  • Jasmine rice
  • 1 Can of spam
  • Shredded carrots
  • 1 Zucchini
  • 1 Red bell pepper
  • 5 eggs
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste
  • Cumin, to taste
  • Curry powder, to taste
  • Red pepper flakes, to taste

Instructions

  • Dice the veggies and spam.
  • Measure out the amount of rice you’d like, and begin to cook.
  • Measure out quinoa and rinse under cold water. Start to cook quinoa.
  • Heat a large wok on medium-high.
  • Beat together eggs with salt, pepper, cumin, and curry powder.
  • When the wok is hot, add the spam, stirring frequently to prevent sticking. Cook until browned and crispy on all sides.
  • Remove spam to a paper towel covered plate. Add eggs to the wok and scramble to your desired doneness.
  • Remove eggs, adding them to the top of the spam.
  • Season the veggies with salt, pepper, curry powder, cumin, and red pepper flakes, then add to the wok. Cook until tender crisp.
  • Add back the spam and eggs, as well as the cooked rice and quinoa. Mix together.
  • Remove from heat, then enjoy! If you have wheat free soy sauce, I recommend adding that on top.
3 thoughts on “Low FODMAP – Day 3: Spam & Quinoa Fried Rice

  1. If you are feeling a bit grumpy on sugar lows remember that you can have maple syrup on the FODMAP diet :). Good luck figuring out what food sensitivity you have. I’m not sure where you are in the world but I know that there are breath tests available to rule out/in fructose malabsorption and lactose issues as well as blood tests you can have that can tell you your tolerance levels to a range of things (much more expensive) including fructose and lactose but also other random things like eggs and almonds. Best of luck!

Let me know what you are thinking.

