Bloating- Next step: CT & low FODMAP

I met with Dr. S this morning. Surprisingly, its been exactly one year + one day since I met with her the first time.

She is going to check with the records from Dr. B2, and make sure the gluten-sensitivity test was reliable. She also ordered me another CT scan- so on Monday I’ll get my little dose of radiation and hopefully we’ll get something useful from it.

And, saddest of all, she is having me try a low FODMAP diet for the next month. Looking through what I can and can’t have, and I’m pretty sad. It’s not like I ate all the high FODMAP foods often, but we do cook a lot with garlic and onion, and no camomile or oolong tea is quite disappointing. The worst part is making my poor husband go through this with me. For some things, like the wheat products, I can simply abstain while he enjoys his (he loves bread, and would be pretty devastated to give it up), but we’re still going to have to make only one dinner, so a decent portion of what he eats will have to change too.

Overall, I’m not convinced it’s going to help, and its going to cost us more than our usual grocery shopping. But, I’m willing to give it a try.

Let me know what you are thinking.

