Bloating – Update

The gluten sensitivity test (the tissue transglutaminase antibody test) came back negative. That rules out Celiac Disease.
We also did a blood test for H. pylori, which came back negative.
So now I’m being referred back to Dr.S, the gastroenterologist. And, somehow I got super lucky and managed to get a referral for tomorrow at 9:00AM! They had a cancellation, which I couldn’t be more thankful for.

I’m sure tomorrow’s appointment will be just another run through of the symptoms, but hopefully that will lead to scheduling the ‘scoping, and getting to the root of whats going on. Dr. B2 said to make sure I show Dr. S the CT results that showed my small bowel intussusception, which I certainly will be doing.

Here’s a picture of some bloating from this afternoon, before I headed to class.

20150414_152729

My belly is quite large. It doesn’t always stay that large- it is usually worse when my bladder is full–which makes sense if the full bladder taking up more space, making the bloating more noticeable. But, I also noticed that, boy, that amitriptyline and letrazole has made me chunky. I weighed 144 lbs at my visit to Dr. B2; I weighed 123 lbs at my surgery back in August. It is strange to me, gaining weight so quickly now, as took me foreeeever to break 100 lbs growing up…I think I broke 100 lbs my senior year in high school, and weighed a consistent 115 lbs all the way through my undergrad degree. I broke 120 lbs when these health things really started to snowball into what they are now.

But thinking of the past isn’t going to get me anywhere, I’m staying focused on the present as much as I can.

2 thoughts on “Bloating – Update

    • Thank you luv! I am sorry you too are suffering like I am, but it’s always strengthening, somehow, to know you are not alone; even when illnesses sometimes seem alienating and isolating, and interactions with medical professionals most often leave a feeling of being unheard and uncared for, there are others who know the same struggle, who, although we have never met, are pulling for me – just I am for them.
      I hope you get answers soon as well.

Let me know what you are thinking.

