Crochet

Two and a half weeks ago, I decided I needed a new hobby. Not that as I graduate student I have lots of time for hobbies, or, at least, shouldn’t be spending lots of time on hobbies rather than giving my attention to my research, but because I need something good and relaxing to do, for me. (Not that research isn’t good. . . just not always relaxing and generally is quite taxing). I also wanted something I could do with my hands, to keep them moving, because they had become quite painful and stiff the past few months. I decided on crochet.

I watched a bunch of YouTube videos, scoured the web for beginner tutorials and information, picked up some beginning supplies from Micheal’s, and got to work. My first project was. . . a little rough. But I persevered and discovered I really, really like it. I’ve made four projects so far, and am finishing up a present for my littlest brother at the moment. I love that not only is it fairly simple to do, but that I am actually creating something. And I find it incredibly relaxing (for the most part, I am hating the project I picked for my little brother- but he’ll love it so it will be worth it).

Although I haven’t been doing it for long, I’ve found it to be very beneficial for my mental health, and will be something I continue doing for as long as I can. It’s really nice to have a new hobby.

2 thoughts on “Crochet

    • Somehow I missed your comment way back in February! I’m so sorry it’s taken me so long to see it
      Thank you! I completely agree, I find it very relaxing and love doing it. I only wish I had more time to make awesome things. πŸ™‚

Let me know what you are thinking.

