Damn it Medco

My insurance requires that I use an online pharmacy for any continuing prescriptions. When I met with Dr. Y, he had to put an order in through Medco ExpressScripts (my required online pharmacy) for the new pills (the aromatase inhibitor, and progesterone).I’m supposed to take the pills for 6 weeks and then return for an exam. I already schedule this exam- on the day met with Dr. Y, and cannot reschedule because they had to make some special accommodations for the timing- since I am traveling “long-distance.” Usually it takes Medco about a week to process and ship the pills- which isn’t bad. That would have put me at just under 6 weeks on the new pills- which is fine. The pills were supposed to ship today, so I logged into the Medco system to check on them, and apparently now they aren’t shipping until the 12th. What the hell?! That’s going to put me a whole lot closer to 4 weeks on the new pills than I want to be- IF they ship on the 12th AND get here within in 2-3 days.

Is it really that hard to fill a prescription? What I if absolutely needed these pills, now. I love my insurance for most things, but they way they handle prescriptions really sucks. If you are going to take forever to fill and ship script, then let me at least pick up some at a local pharmacy in the mean time!

Just give me my medicine, damn-it.

Let me know what you are thinking.

