Positive reflections.

With everything that I have felt bad about, or complained about I have two positive things to note.

1. The newest BCP I’m on must’ve worked better than I expected, because in the last 4 days (the first, and usual worst days of my period) I have lost less than 35mL of blood (last period I lost just shy of 140mL of blood in 4 days).  30mL of blood is the average blood loss for menstruation, so while I still have some time to go on my period, it is pretty exciting to be much closer to the average amount!

2. I have some excellent Professors. I love them. Seriously, I couldn’t be more thankful for the current group of faculty in my department than I am now. They are so concerned about my health and well-being, above research and school work (which can be rare in graduate school- my old department was certainly research first!). Two of my Professors today told me to take as much time as I needed to get my coursework for this semester completed; that if I cannot get it completed in the next two weeks of classes, they would give me an Incomplete, and then when I am able to finish it, change the course grade. I honestly cannot express how relieving that is. It has been a constant struggle to complete work this semester, and I am rather behind where I want to be on all my end of the year projects. I’ve been quite worried about being able to finish everything on time. And while I will, of course, do my best to get everything complete on time- but if I cannot- especially with the surgical consultation coming up- it is relieving to know I will not have lost my entire semester. Plus, it is wonderful to know that my Professors genuinely care about me. I am so happy with my decision to switch fields.

I hope you can all find something positive today as well.

Let me know what you are thinking.

